Bill "Fatback" Curtis - a Fayetteville native - has been selected for induction in the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame.

Congratulations are in order today, as Fayetteville-native Bill Curtis – best known for founding The Fatback Band – has been selected as an inductee for the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame this year.

Curtis, who has been a legend in the community – and in the music industry – was among six musicians selected for induction at the October 19, 2023 event at the Mooresville Performing Arts Center.

“Bill Curtis is a musician and songwriter who formed his funk disco band, The Fatback Band, in 1970,” a release from the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame said. “The Fatback Band released the first recorded rap song “King Tim III (Personality Jock)” which is widely regarded as one of the first ever commercial rap singles earmarking the beginning of recorded hip hop. In 1979, the band released the first line dance hit to the song “(Are you Ready) Do The Bus Stop.” Curtis has performed with influential artists including Jackie Wilson, Marvin Gaye, The Moonglows, Ruth Brown, Earth, Wind & Fire, and Aretha Franklin, and has received several invitations to the White House.”

Curtis joins five other musicians this year, who will be enshrined at the museum in Kannapolis. The other inductees this year are:

  • Loudon Wainwright III, Chapel Hill – Wainwright is a Grammy award winning singer-songwriter, and acted in films and TV shows;
  • Scotty McCreery, Garner – The country music star notably won American Idol, and has since had numerous No. 1 hits in the industry;
  • Fetchin Bones, Charlotte – The rock, punk, funk band were legendary live performers, and had several albums on Capital records;
  • George Beverly Shea, Montreat – Best known as the musical leader of the Billy Graham Crusades, Shea won a Grammy, and is beloved around the world;
  • Betty Davis, Durham – The “Queen of Funk” was a pioneer in her genre, influencing many soul and R&B singers of today.

“The induction ceremony honoring the 2023 class will take place on Thursday, October 19, 2023 at the Mooresville Performing Arts Center in Mooresville, NC. The ceremony is open to the public and will include appearances by inductees and live performances by Scotty McCreery, Loudon Wainwright III, and Fetchin Bones. More performances to be announced. General reserved tickets are on sale now for $60 and can be purchased at VIP ticket packages that include reserved seating, a VIP reception, souvenir book and event badge, red carpet walk, and early access seating are on sale for $90.”

Congratulations to Bill Curtis on this special North Carolina honor.

Brandon Plotnick is a former sports journalist, now living in the digital space with interests all over the musical and pop culture map.

Sign me up for the Sunny 94.3 email newsletter!

Your community connection station is bringing you the latest local news, notes, events and more. All right in your email inbox!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.