Don't worry. We'll tell you how to stop it from happening.
With all the changes that Instagram has been doing as of late (some not so great, JUST SAYING), it has now taken to doing what Facebook Messenger has done for years and letting your followers know when you were last active on the app.
Unlike Facebook, you can turn this function off, so thank goodness for that.
If you look at the tweet below, there's a button in your settings called "Show Activity Status," which will let users know when you were just online. If you shut it off, you won't be able to see others, and they won't be able to see your activity as well.
This is not cool, man.
Only people that you follow, or have previously Direct Messaged can see this information, according to The Verge, but say you are a Model, Photographer, Journalist, Instagram Personality, Radio Personality, etc, you may not want people to know when you're on, and if random people constantly message you, then you may want to go into your settings and turn this button off.
Sure, it's not sharing YOUR LOCATION, but if you're trying to ignore someone's messages, or just give yourself a little privacy, this may be a good tip for you to follow.
Amy Cooper is one with the force and the force is with her.